How to Use the Close Friends Feature on Instagram and Share Your Stories With a Select Group of Followers

Written by Marissa Perino, Read Orginal Article @Businessinsider.com

You may not want to share your Instagram Stories with every one of your hundreds of followers. Thanks to the Close Friends feature, you can curate a select list.

If you’ve ever seen someone’s Instagram Story have a green ring around it, that means it’s only for that person’s Close Friends list, which you’re on. The Close Friends feature allows you to post Instagram Stories for a particular group of followers that can be changed at any time. When you add or remove someone, Instagram won’t notify them. 

Here’s how to add people, edit, and post Stories for your Instagram Close Friends list using the Instagram app for iPhone and Android devices.

How to use the Close Friends list on Instagram

1. Open Instagram on your phone.

2. Tap your profile icon in the bottom-right corner.

Your profile icon is represented by a photo you chose.

3. Tap the three bars in the upper-right corner of your screen, and then tap “Settings.”

4. Tap the “Close Friends” option.

You can find this on the Settings menu list beneath the “Shopping Bag.”

5. If you’ve never used Close Friends before, you’ll be greeted with a description of the feature. Tap the blue “Get Started” button to begin adding to your list.

You won’t see this option if you’ve already used the feature.

6. If it’s your first time, tap the “Create List” option at the bottom.

7. Tap the “Add” button next to any of suggestions provided.

Scroll through your Instagram followers list to “Add” users to your “Close Friends” list.

8. You can also search for a specific name by selecting the “+” button in the upper-right.  

9. Tap the green “Remove” button to remove names from your “Close Friends” list.

You can remove friends at the same time you add them.

10. Once you’ve finalized your list, tap “Done” in the upper-right corner.

How to post an Instagram Story for just your Close Friends list

1. Open the Instagram app on your phone.

2. Swipe right to access your camera

3. Upload or take a photo or video and customize it as you wish.

Prepare a Story post to share with Close Friends.

4. Tap the green Close Friends icon at the bottom of the screen to share it immediately.

5. You can also tap the “Send To” at the bottom of the screen and select the “Close Friends Only” option.

Tap to view your list of people if you need a reminder of who is on it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Contact us°

11 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 3JH, United Kingdom

+44 (0) 1273 530072

Dropkick_footer

© 2021 All rights reserved, Dropkick Socials.         Privacy Policy           Terms